//
You're reading...
Dating, Love, Relationships, Romance, Sex, Uncategorized

Pieces of Me

When Mr. Big showed up at Carrie’s apartment with a gift bag full of the personal items she had tried to discreetly leave behind at his place, our hearts broke right along with her.  We were reminded that, sometimes, the hardest part of dating isn’t finding someone but rather navigating the twists and turns of our journey together.

Like anything else in life, we’re often on different schedules.  We’re in agreement with the que of destinations but our timelines might not match.  While there are some people who date just to date or just to “get some”, most of us date expecting to find a partner to continue our journey with.  We usually even agree on the stops we’ll make along the way; a toothbrush, a drawer, a key, moving in, getting married, having kids, having wrinkles and arthritis and his and hers rocking chairs.  Unfortunately, much like pulling over for bathroom breaks on a long car trip, we’re not always ready for these stops at the same time.

Carrie had hopes to conquer under the cover of night, an ambush if you will.  I decided to take a more forward approach.  While I know CC isn’t just into me for my looks, let’s be honest, appearances help.  If I’m going to be spending nights at Chez CC, I require “things”, like make-up cleanser, face cream, eye cream, a toothbrush.  I can live without my make-up and hairdryer for now but pimples aren’t pretty on anyone.  And I got tired of carrying Aisle 7 around in my purse.

On the way back to CC’s for the night, I had him stop at CVS.  I picked up my necessities and explained that I would be taking up a small piece of real-estate in his bathroom vanity.  He was surprisingly agreeable.  None of us want to spook our significant others but, let’s be honest, we’re not boys.  We can’t just roll out of bed, splash some water on our faces and call it a day.  Our overnight needs are pieces of us that simply come with the territory.  (Although I’m doubtful he’ll be as understanding when I get laid off from my day job and need somewhere to live!)

“I am moody, messy I get restless and senseless And you never seem to care When I’m angry you listen Make me happy , it’s your mission And you won’t stop till I’m there Fall with you I fall so last I can hardly catch my breath I hope it lasts I feel like I can finally rest my head on something real I like the way it feels It’s as if you know me better than I ever knew myself I love how you can tell All the pieces, pieces, pieces of me” ~ Pieces of Me, Ashlee Simpson

About Murphy's Law

You know that cliche that whatever can go wrong will go wrong? Can you think of anywhere else this holds more true than in the dating world? Ever had to change your phone number because someone sent you 150 texts in one day? Or go on a first date with someone you met online, only to find out that there's a reason he was holding his niece in front of half of his face in all of his pictures? Or take you to dinner only to have his ex-girlfriend as your waitress? Yes, the dating world is scary. But the good news is, you're not alone!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Stalk my life and get update notifications delivered right to your email!

Join 54 other followers

TMI (Twitter)

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

