//
You're reading...
Dating, Love, Relationships, Romance, Sex

Let’s Talk About Sex, Baby

I never understood money being the universal language.  The value fluctuates depending on where you are in the world and when you travel outside of the country, you have to convert it to whatever Monopoly looking type money they use.  The one thing that’s the same in every language, everywhere in the world?  Sex.  Sure, depending on where you are, certain things may be illegal or you might have to do it through a hole in the sheet, but the idea is the same.  You don’t need to understand a single word to be able to convey to someone else that you want to rip their clothes off.  Please, every girl grew up learning the right sideways glance, coy smile and the little bite of the bottom lip.  When it comes to sex, actions definitely speak louder than words.

I recently met a guy I’m slightly “in like” with although I don’t know him all that well.  What I do know though, I’m impressed with.  He has a strong work ethic, he’s funny, family oriented, absolutely adorable and, did I mention, a fantastic kisser?  I don’t know about you guys but kissing is my favorite part!  When we first met, I accidentally fake numbered him.  Apparently when I’m intoxicated, my phone number has eight digits.  Who knew?  When we were finally able to connect, we texted back and forth for four days straight.  Literally.  From the time he got up for work in the morning until the time I lied down for bed at night.  And every one of those texts sent tingles through my body.  (To be fair, the subject matter may have had something to do with it!)  There was just this connection there and I couldn’t get enough.  And then, I broke the biggest dating rule of all.  I took him home from the bar one night and slept with him.  We almost didn’t make it into my apartment.  From the second our lips touched outside of the bar (yes, I made out in the parking lot.  Don’t judge me), I was completely intoxicated with him.  Then there was the maneuvering around his steering wheel, the walk up to my apartment and finally, my bed.  And the rocking chair.  And couch.  It was a very good night.

But, let’s be honest, I’m now “that girl.”  Despite the fact that I have so much more to offer, he will probably never take the time to find out.  After all, in his mind, I’m the girl who gets drunk and takes home guys she hardly knows.   And, while I don’t make a habit of it, I don’t think getting the sex out of the way in the beginning is the worst idea in the world.  How many times have you invested the obligatory three dates (or more) only to find out that you could actually sleep through the sleeping together?  Sometimes two people just don’t click in bed and wouldn’t it be nice to know that upfront rather than cheating on each other later?  Why does sleeping with someone right away automatically disqualify us as a possible candidate for something more?  When you feel a connection to someone, sometimes you have to throw the rules out the window.  I say, if its good, why not continue to take advantage of the delicious sex while getting to know that person?  If it actually did lead somewhere, you’d get the reward of a fabulous sex life for the rest of your life.  There are worse things that could happen, right?

To the male readers, pay attention!  There are plenty of women out there who sleep with everyone.  But, sometimes, when a woman says “I never do this”, she’s telling you the truth.  And the reason she did it with you?  It’s not because she’s a slut, it’s because she’s into you!  If all you’re after is sex, fair enough.   But if you’re looking for someone to wake up next to in the morning, make banana pancakes together and do it again, don’t be so quick to toss aside the woman who will wake you up with her legs around your waist.  She might actually be everything you’re looking for.  (Just don’t make the pancakes naked.  It can be very dangerous!)

“It’s natural It’s chemical It’s logical Habitual It’s sensual… Sex is natural Sex is good Not everybody does it But everybody should Sex is natural Sex is fun Sex is best when it’s one on one.” I Want Your Sex ~ George Michael

About Murphy's Law

You know that cliche that whatever can go wrong will go wrong? Can you think of anywhere else this holds more true than in the dating world? Ever had to change your phone number because someone sent you 150 texts in one day? Or go on a first date with someone you met online, only to find out that there's a reason he was holding his niece in front of half of his face in all of his pictures? Or take you to dinner only to have his ex-girlfriend as your waitress? Yes, the dating world is scary. But the good news is, you're not alone!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Sex, Baby

  1. Ok so I am supposed to be job searching ALL day, but then I got an email notification that you had posted a blog, so I HAD to ignore the job search for a minute and glad I did!!! Totally can relate ESPECIALLY with last paragraph! Can’t wait for next post!

    Posted by lililanier | August 10, 2011, 2:25 PM
  2. LOVE this post and every point is the logical truth of good ‘ole sex!!! You go girl!!! XOXO

    Posted by Rachael | August 10, 2011, 12:51 AM

Leave a Reply

Stalk my life and get update notifications delivered right to your email!

Join 54 other followers

TMI (Twitter)

